Burgundy Thistle

Mumbles, rambles, and mutterings.

How Not to Successfully Tick Off Everything on a Summer Reading List

leave a comment »

The summer started on a rather sticky note. With way more enthusiasm than the average summer-loving person, I did the one thing I love to do. I made a list. Not just any list. No, no. A ‘Summer Reading List’. My relationship with lists has been on shaky ground ever since I was seven, and decided to include “Meet Dr. Seuss” on my list of things that absolutely needed to be done. To say that this has been an utter failure of a list would be an understatement. A gross understatement.

Here’s the list, anyway.
Some of these, I’ve read and loved. Others, I am waiting and willing to discover.

* Catch-22 by Joseph Heller
* Crime and Punishment by Fyodor Dostoevsky
* Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy
* The Age of Innocence by Edith Wharton
* Ivanhoe by Sir Walter Scott
* Cloud Atlas by David Mitchell
* Kafka on the Shore by Haruki Murakami
* Atlas Shrugged by Ayn Rand
* Oliver Twist by Charles Dickens
* The Second Sex by Simone de Beauvoir
* The Hours by Michael Cunningham
* A Suitable Boy by Vikram Seth
* The Moonstone by Wilkie Collins
* Three Men in a Boat by Jerome K. Jerome
* Love in the Time of Cholera by Gabriel García Márquez

Maybe I’ll stop watching ‘Fawlty Towers’ now, and find myself a book to bury my nose in.

Written by Gauri Burma

July 15, 2010 at 7:16 AM

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

